How Much Longer Shall I Wait?

Soon it shall be that it shall cease to be soon

Shortly it shall be that it shall not be shortly

When it shall be I know not, but it shall be

How it shall be I know not, but it shall be

Dreams that I cling to give me hope that I clench to

Wishes that I clasp to give me faith that I clinch to

Yet I still wait and yet I still ask,

 How much longer shall I wait?

*

Coils and uncoils, recoils and re-uncoils

Extends and withdraws, distends and deflates

My patience is tried, tried and tried again

Patiently I wait, wait and wait again

Now the day is over; the sun is sunken beneath the horizon

Darkness holds light captive, locked up deep down in a dungeon

How much longer shall I wait?

Surely I cannot wait forever, how much longer shall I wait?

 

*Author: Clever Mukori

2 thoughts on “How Much Longer Shall I Wait?

Leave a Reply

